Discovery 2017

↓ Advertise on DISCO5.CO.UK ↓

• Apple5580
    United Kingdom 

Hi everyone

Newbie here, not an actual owner yet, but i’m very tempted to purchase a discovery 5. The only trouble is, i have an Audi A6 3.0 bitdi 2014 Avant and a ford Kuga 2.0 tdi 4x4 that would have to be chopped in. Both fantastic cars with not faults what so ever. Been looking at either a first edition, or a hse luxury 3.0. Any help and advise would be appreciated. Thanks Simon
  • Dangerdave
    United Kingdom 

Ask the garage about taking two? Otherwise there’s various permutations of selling privately or via webuyanycar, but it’s your decision.
  • Apple5580
    United Kingdom 

Yes the garage will take two no problem, it is just the big decision of wether to let two very good cars go for one excellent car. But i’m reading one or two bad things about the discovery 5 on here
  • jimbg
    United Kingdom 

What have you read that is of concern to you? Maybe we can put your mind at rest.

I am sure if you go on an Audi forum you will read about lots of problems there as well.
  • Apple5580
    United Kingdom 

Just about the oil dilution really. And yes i see your point, there are probably more bad points than plus with Audi’s too
  • jimbg
    United Kingdom 

Well the oil dilution is fixed by a software update, some owners went to the trouble of having it tested and found there was no great issue. The software was too aggressive in it's calculation and giving percentage values that were way too high.
  • milesg
    United Kingdom 
    2018 Discovery Td6 HSE Lux Indus Silver

Oil dilution has affected very few in the scheme of things, is covered by LR and if rumours are true, has been fixed with software patches. Certainly First Editions or 17/18 plate HSE Lux's should be sorted by now / will have shown it before now.