Discovery 2017

↓ Advertise on DISCO5.CO.UK ↓

• OllyMidd
    United Kingdom 
    2017 Discovery Td6 HSE Farallon Black

Odd DPF warning

So I have some experience with DPFs but my mind is slightly boggled with this one.

I did a long (200 mile journey two days ago bringing the car home - new owner of 17 plate) and yesterday and today, I experienced after turning the car on towards the end of each day the amber DPF warning to go and take a drive. Yesterday, it just went away after about 30 seconds and today it lasted for maybe 1 minute, saw the green ‘good to go’ message and that was was. I must also note that both times, I couldn’t even reach the road I’d take it on to clear the message.

So my Q’s...

> Does the car regenerate after a certain time, mileage or something else
    > Has anyone experienced this?
    > Could it be because the car sat at a dealership for a short while?
    > Surely the car would have done a regeneration on my almost 200 mile journey Home?
    > I noticed this evening that the auto start/stop worked when at a set of lights, then didn’t do it again for the remainder of the journey. I read that the car will disable auto start/stop if or when it will do a regen.
    > Has anyone successfully removed a DPF with passable MOT results?

Sorry for all the questions and TIA!
  • DieselRanger
    United States 
    2017 Discovery Td6 HSE Silicon Silver

> Does the car regenerate after a certain time, mileage or something else
    -- It detects backpressure / pressure drop across the DPF, indicating a necessary regen
    -- If you can't drive it long enough for the regen to take place completely, it's going to throw the message that you need to go drive it.

> Has anyone experienced this?
    -- Only once on a previous vehicle, never on the LR. Have never even seen the regen lights light up, amber or green.

> Could it be because the car sat at a dealership for a short while?