Discovery 2017

↓ Advertise on DISCO5.CO.UK ↓

• alex08
    Scotland 

In Glasgow this Weekend

D5 sitting in Buchanan Galleries until Sunday. Chaps with it knowledgeable and helpful & happy to show off all the bits. So..

It is big enough in the 3rd row for me to sit in with room for me also in row 2 and driving position - I am a typical D3 driver so 'larger' build so that is something carried over from the D3. I can't sit the 3rd row of many cars. Access to row 3 worse than the D3 as the row 2 seats don't tip out of the way as well.

Rear seats fold flat - as mentioned elsewhere, with caveats about damage! Maybe the poverty specs won't have the lateral seat bolsters that cause the problem. Big gaps though in the loadspaces so something needs to go over the floor to stop the edges of seats catching or things falling through. If you were to sleep in the back you'd definitely need a firm base on top of the folded seats.

Tailgate issues as described. High load level compared with D3 but similar to RRS2. Fullsize spare ( Thumbs Up ) Less height in loadspace entry (8cm) but wider than D3 - overall more space - fine if you are carrying cushions but not for square things...

Battery in a stupid place in the rear wing.......really?? Confused Confused Shocked OK there is a jump point under the bonnet but it you want to take the battery out to charge then you have a job on your hands.

Air intake runs in a bodywork channel between the front wing, engine compartment and bonnet. Seals from engine compartment but ? above with the bonnet. Bow wave would worry me.

Front recovery point to chassis. Rear is a tow point (screw) but towbar has recovery point - fixed and deployable. The man says you can snatch from the rear using this. If you can deploy the towbar.....!

No tft display like the RRS2 Sad

Tailgate Sad Sad - no ladder option or proper roof rack from LR