Discovery 2017

↓ Advertise on DISCO5.CO.UK ↓

• Lucy2
    Scotland 
    2018 Discovery Sd4 (240) HSE Santorini Black

Newbie here Questions about D5 2.0 Ltr towing ability

Hi all

Saying Hi & help please, I've had many Landrovers over the years RR Sports, Disco 3s & 4, & at the moment I have a 2016 Discovery Sport 2.0 Ltr HSE Lux, love the car & had very little bother with it. Her indoors now fancy's the D5, my local LR dealer has a 2017 HSE 16500 mile £37600, lovely but it's the 2.0 Ltr with 240 BHP and this is my question, will the 2.0 Ltr tow my 2019 Adria Adora caravan at 1750 kg ?? (Power wise).

The 2.0 Ltr Disco Sport tows it with no effort at all with 180 BHP so with the D5 being heavier but with 240 BHP will it tow my van??

I have just retired at 65 don't really want to go back to the 3.0 Ltr & don't want to use all my retirement money on a new Discovery hence the 2017 ish as we only tow maybe 20 times a year with one long haul tow down south England.

Any help would be much appreciated Bow down

Thanks.

Discovery Sport 2.0 ltr HSE Lux black 2016 gone. New to me 2018 Discovery5, 2.0 ltr HSE SD4 Black 22"
  • al cope
    United Kingdom 
    2018 Discovery Sd4 (240) HSE Corris Grey

I tow an 1800kg Elddis supreme 840 with my 2ltr D5 and it does it with ease. I towed down through France with it last year and done south coast this year (and will be doing another 400 miles towing in a week or so). I too have come from towing large twin axle caravans with both D3 and D4’s. My D5 is the 240bhp 500Nm version (2018) but the 2Ltr in 2019 dropped to 440Nm torque.

The way I look at it is this, my last D4 was 3ltr, 256bhp, 600Nm, and did approx 21/22mpg Around town, made about 30 if I drove like miss daisy, and towing ( if I pushed on a bit) would be down to about 16 mpg.