Discovery 2017

↓ Advertise on DISCO5.CO.UK ↓

• Disco Inferno
    United Kingdom 
    2019 Discovery SDV6 HSE Yulong White

No Hard Disc Drive?

Hi Everyone,

Complete nooby here, I picked up my new '69 plate TDV6 HSE three weeks ago. Absolutely delighted with it so far but only just getting to grips with all the onboard tech!

One thing that surprised me (and I have asked dealer to confirm if it is correct) is that I don't appear to have a hard disc drive as part of the infotainment system. The only options I get when I go to the 'source' menu are: Phone, Radio, CD or 'Online Media'.

The handbook suggests that I should be able to upload music from a USB drive or be able to rip music from a CD onto the drive, but neither of these options seem to be available. The handbook does state 'If the vehicle's infotainment and market specification does not support CD ripping, the CD ripping icon is not displayed' so I am a bit perplexed as I thought the HSE model would have the full spread bar the backseat DVD option.

Can anyone enlighten me on the subject or point me in the direction of a detailed HSE vehicle specification as the LR website doesn't really go into too much detail on the infotainment options.

Thanks!
  • mordred1973
    United Kingdom 
    2017 Discovery Td6 HSE Fuji White

that sounds odd...my 2017 HSE definitely has the hard drive option (never tried to use it mind you)

2023 D300 Metropolitan, Hakuba Silver, Low Range, Solar screen, Deployable towbar, FBH, sidesteps.
  • Rallyevo3
    United Kingdom 
    2018 Discovery Td6 HSE Lux Corris Grey

Does this help

The vehicle's internal storage, which is used for navigation data, speech data, and metadata databases, also allows media to be stored by:

Importing media from USB memory devices, via the MEDIA PLAYER SETTINGS screen. Select the settings icon to access the SETTINGS pop-up menu. Select All settings. Select Features. Select Media. Select Media Player Settings. See MEDIA CONTROLS.
  • Russell