Discovery 2017

↓ Advertise on DISCO5.CO.UK ↓

• Equilibrium
    United Kingdom 
    2019 Discovery SDV6 HSE Lux Carpathian Grey

Darras, each to their own and all that. Investment/risk appetite is a personal thing.

However, I have been investing - both buying and selling - for 20 years and pretty happy with the results. I buy and sell within ISAs for short term stuff such as cars, buy and sell within my pension to self manage my retirement fund.

Wiping out and far exceeding the interest on a D5 PCP is pretty simple in recent trading conditions.

Drives: 2020 MY20 HSE Luxury SDV6 in Eiger Grey/Glacier
    Departed: 2019 MY20 HSE Luxury SDV6 in Carpathian Grey/Glacier, 440i, 320d, Toyotas, Mondeo, Citroen BX amongst others
  • Darras
    United Kingdom 

Good to hear, but there’s a risk things could go belly up or we could all become Millionaires assuming neither of us are or admitting to it and I am told by someone that knows that the actual balance in an account is merely a collection of numbers and pretty meaningless tbh.

I used to work with a guy that invested and he was forever checking prices, he liked the up’s never the down’s.

However, he never liked me saying it was no different to gambling and he was addicted. Just my opinion that said.

Wouldn’t like to stake my future pension on it, if I had one? it’s a dangerous game to play - my accountants view too with whom I am having a virtual coffee as we speak, so yes, I am risk adverse and happy with it. Thumbs Up
  • Equilibrium
    United Kingdom 

Interesting topic and sorry for taking the thread so far off topic!

Agree, that there is an element of gambling, albeit one that is researched and quantified. I also set myself rules on percentages of people portfolios that are for a pure punt, take profits when things have gone well and try not to panic crystallise losses.