Discovery 2017

↓ Advertise on DISCO5.CO.UK ↓

• RyanRC
    United States 

Amount of extra ripped media storage?

Hello all

Just to note before I go into this that I have never owned a Land Rover vehicle before, or anything that was made by LRJ, so while I am a bit tech savvy I am really green to their systems.

So this morning I was reading through the iGuide and in reading through the section of Importing/Ripping Media it talks about how the vehicles internal storage which is used for navigation data, speech data and metadata databaseds, can also allow media storage.

So I would assume whats left after all that can vary on how much of that gets put in, but in general or even to a best guess with the consideration of all those, does anyone know just how much is left for other media storage?

Naturally I am not asking for this measurement by how many songs or perhaps count of other forums of media, but more in bit size data.

In sort of a follow up question to that, is there any place in the iControls system where I can view how much storage is being used and how much is left?

Thank for any help.
  • ashields
    United Kingdom 
    2017 Discovery Td6 HSE Corris Grey

I don't know exactly but I ran out of space at somewhere between 4.5 and 6 gb when I was initially importing videos.

I now have just music on the internal storage and keep videos on a USB flash drive. It's not perfect though as often I get in the car and find it can't read the contents of the USB attached drive, I have to disconnect and reconnect it.
  • neilk
    United Kingdom 
    2018 Discovery Td6 HSE Lux Loire Blue

I managed to get just under 10Gb on a USB stick of Music. It does not fail gracefully when full in that you get no messages and a truncated copy. First attempt was 15GB and was a straight copy of my iTunes folder. It is so fast though it is easy to recopy the whole thing.
  • Forum Permissions
  • You cannot create new threads in this forum