Discovery 2017

↓ Advertise on DISCO5.CO.UK ↓

• Craigp
    England 

My experiences is its not quite as solid as the D4 that said its not really a issue. Ive been towing 2T twin axle for just short of two years and now totally used to its slight twitch when a coach or large truck passes me. It really is a non event.
  • GEOBLRDISCO4_SOFAR
    United Kingdom 
    2019 Discovery SDV6 HSE Corris Grey

3.0L or 2.0L Craig ? I want to buy the 2.0L because now is a good time for me to change, more choice of 2.0L on the newer engine
    Thanks
    This bloke says, "you should buy the 3.0L". its like a land rover advert, "its has 20% more torque ?
    Yes but do i need that for 4 caravan trips a year?, What viewers need to know are the limitations, we all know what the ideal would be Wink

• Craigp
    England 

Ive got the 3litre but been reading good stuff about the 2 litre so go with the car that suits you best for the majority of the time. Im sure they are both very capable of fulfilling your needs.
  • al cope
    United Kingdom 
    2018 Discovery Sd4 (240) HSE Corris Grey

I've gone for the 2Ltr, after towing with 2 x 2.7 V6 D3's and 2 x 3 Ltr V6 D4's.

OK the D4's had more power and torque (256BHP and 600Nm Torque) but think about it in context, the 2Ltr (well my 2018 model has 240BHP and 500Nm torque - the 2019 model drops to 440Nm), but the D3 2.7 V6 had 196BHP and 440Nm and we all thought that was a great towcar at the time.

Also the D5 is lighter so its power to weight ratio is better.

I've only so far towed twice with mine and it seems fine.

Al

Now gone - D5 HSE 2Ltr in Corris with black roof, black & dynamic packs & 22" black alloys, a bit of a change after 2 D3's and 2 D4's Smile
  • Hauser
    Germany 
    2017 Discovery Td6 HSE Lux Fuji White

Guys I don't mean to be mean, but you should compare the engines yourself before you make the choice.