Discovery 2017

↓ Advertise on DISCO5.CO.UK ↓

• maffffster
    United Kingdom 
    2017 Discovery TDV6 HSE Loire Blue

Map Update

I'm new to the D5 (well a few months now) and i see that there is a map update and have seen a few comments from people saying "not another update" ... my question is

Is it really worth doing the updates ? and is it an easy process

thanks
  • JonM
    United Kingdom 
    2022 Discovery SDV6 HSE Carpathian Grey

Yes, it's easy. Just time consuming to download to a USB stick and then upload to the car.

Is it worth doing? That depends on whether you use the sat nav a lot. If you just drive in your local area then no, there's no point. If you're going on a long journey to somewhere new then updating before you go seems sensible.

MY2022 D5 HSE D300 - with extra nice bits added
    MY2019 D5 HSE 3.0 SDV6 - sold to a dealer for a crazy price!
  • Dangerdave
    United Kingdom 

That pretty much sums it up tbh.

It can take 6 plus hours to download, then another half hour to instal. I doubt. missing the odd update is going to be significant, not for me anyway.
  • maffffster
    United Kingdom 
    2017 Discovery TDV6 HSE Loire Blue

Thanks guys - i'll leave this update for now as the system was updated when i purchased the car a few months ago and not heading into Russia anytime soon lol
  • Labbix

You can check what is in the update, they mention the specific countries and mostly it is speed cams etc. so you can decide easily to update or not with this given info.
  • mordred1973
    United Kingdom 
    2017 Discovery Td6 HSE Fuji White

mine took just under 2 hours to download to the memory stick, havent tried the upload to the car yet. I would guess mine has the original 2017 map installed as doubt the dealer updated it before selling to me last year.

2023 D300 Metropolitan, Hakuba Silver, Low Range, Solar screen, Deployable towbar, FBH, sidesteps.
  • jimbg
    United Kingdom